Week 2: Production of goblin tools and the rise of the orc patient

At the beginning of this week I made the mesh for the bellows that was designed last Friday.  Bellows-concept

Differences between concept and result is firstly some extra wonkiness, it was needed because Goblin doctors art style is handmade with clearly defined and exaggerated shapes. The concept was a bit too flat. Secondly, I also added some more details to the shield top, with this design I want to show that it once was a shield used in war by orcs before being used as material for bellows.

The second task of the week was to make the pliers that the goblins will use to extract prosthetic’s from the hot furnace. As there were allot of decisions yet to be made concerning the mechanics of the pliers I made a simple mesh to begin with as the risk that it had to be remade was high.

Pliers

The pliers were separated into two meshes with a pivot point around the bolt in common.

This was it for the goblin tools for now, it was time to start off rigging the orc patient. The orc patient is the character that the game revolves around and making him work therefor was a high priority task. Måns had already made a mesh so I just jumped in to rigging, I made all the rig work for the goblins so this should be piece of cake… WRONG! As I made the basic CAT-rig and started to adjust the joint positions if found that some things were wrong with the mesh. The hands were to small, the feet were like big Donald Duck feet and the edge flow contained allot of triangles in positions that were to be animated. So before I could start continue rigging I had to remake allot of topology and define the mesh with toes and more orcish hands and arms. However, I don’t think that it’s that odd to run into some mesh problems. Måns basically made the whole mesh before the big game course started on his spare time so I am grateful that there was a mesh at all. Thank you Måns 😃 (But you got to reduce them triangles boy!)

After a day of mesh adjusting I could continue rigging and I had to face something that I did not want to face but always knew on some level that I had to face. There had to be a face… rig.  I had never made a face rig before so research had to be done. What I found during research was that the knowledge needed was on a higher level then what was needed for a regular CAT-rig, scripting and new programs had to be learned and even more knowledge probably was needed by the coders to implement these more complex rigs. As there are only two coders on the team I like to find ways to deal with these kinds of things without disturbing them so I chose to find my own simplified way and started experimenting with the use of CAT-rig parts for the movement of the face.

Facerig

Next week there will be more orchifying, see you then!

Lämna en kommentar