Goblin Doctors: Sorry and Week 1

Hi! For five weeks, I’ve been working on the game project Goblin Doctors and not one single blog post have I written about it. Sorry about that ☹. To make up for this I will over a few days recap the main tasks that I’ve been working with during these five weeks. Let’s start off with week one, shall we?

 

Week 1 – Goblin engineering

This week I’ve been working on concepts and made meshes for three different tools that the player will interact with in Goblin Doctors.

Stretcher

First of the stretcher that the goblins will use to transport the orc patients had to be made. The guidelines that I work by to approach a good design is:

  • Design with usability in mind.
  • Think like a goblin.
  • Make it silly.Stretcher

While designing the stretcher I thought of how a goblin probably do not spend allot of time on the refining materials and of the likelihood that they just scramble up whatever materials that they can find to achieve a result that just barely fulfill the products needs.

Stretcher

The mesh was made with only a few changes from the concept. As the camera angle in the game placed in a top-down perspective not much of the stretchers wheel legs could be shown, so I decided to erase allot of the detail that was put in. I think that the goal of making an improvised look and practical design was achieved, I’d also say that a fair share off silliness was contributed into the design as well.

Axe

In the game, the goblins will use a large catapult alike axe for amputation. A concept that Måns Möller made was available so after some a good look at his Da Vinci like drawing and some redesigning of the mechanism the work could begin. My goal this time around was to add some extra silliness by working with contrasts in size. The goblins are very small but also filled with a love for everything that is deadly so the axe had to bear the appearance of death and should be oversized to a ridiculous amount. I think the result responded these goals well.

Axe

Something that I think I missed out on in this design is the material improvisation that I implemented in the stretcher.

Bellows concept

To finish of week one, I made a concept of the bellows that will fire up the furnace in the goblin tent. I once again implemented the material improvisation design and made the bellows out of a used orc shield.Bellows-concept

That’s it for Week 1, next up in week 2 there will be more meshes for tools and some orc rigging.

Thanks for reading, See you!

Lämna en kommentar